It is increasingly less common for family members to eat meals together. Why is this the case? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Second-hand clothes ' popularity amongst youngsters has been on the rise in recent times because they are cost-effective. However, this essay believes that such a development is negative as it has poor economic implications. It is logical for young people to wear more used garments over brand-new apparels and trousers because it requires less money to get them. Students and teenagers are often low on budget because they do not earn on their own. They rely on the pocket money provided by their parents to live their daily lives. With inflation affecting the garments industry, the price of brand new clothes, more importantly of bigger brands, has also increased. As a result, youngsters are renting or buying used top and bottom wear of famous brands at a cheaper price in comparison to the MRP. For example, more newly-engaged couples are opting for rented, but branded, used-wedding dresses because it is cheaper compared to their retail prices. Having said that, I believe that the trend of using pre-owned clothes by the younger generation has negative consequences on the economy. Teenagers and students are the largest customer segment for the apparel industry. If these people do not buy their new line of clothes, the demand will go down, and as a result, production will be impacted. Businesses in this sector, if they don't see revenues increase, will have to bear the operational costs, which will ultimately lead to bankruptcy. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, due to the lockdown imposed by many countries, the demand for shirts and trousers was low, thereby leading to a shutdown of many companies as their cost to operate kept on increasing. In conclusion, while pre-owned clothes are getting popular amongst young people because of their low price, I believe this development is negative as it fuels low demand for fresh clothes, which ultimately leads to companies going bankrupt, thereby impacting the economy negatively.