Do the benefits of genetic engineering outweigh the dangers?

Manipulating genes from different species has become a common norm nowadays. This poses some loses and gains at the same time.The essay below is of the view that there are more benefits of engineering genetics compared to the dangers. First and foremost, new food, plants and animals are discovered through DNA combining. When a variety of food is created, there is wide food choice for the civilians rather than consuming the same things all the time. For instance, when cauliflower and lettuce vegetable genes are mixed, broccoli is made. Moreover, manipulating genetics helps plants and animals to grow big and fast. The world is slowly becoming overpopulated and hunger kills thousands every year. There is a need therefore to produce food as fast as possible so to save lives in times of drought. Manipulated plants and meat save lives yearly. In 2008, Zimbabwe was faced with a terrible drought, a lot of animals died but most people were saved by donations from countries like China have the means to produce food fast. On the other hand, some say controlling genes is problematic as it causes more damage than control. The reason is that the plants and animals produced contain more diseases. This thought is invalid because most of the vegetables produced have more nutrients than the original species. For example, a study conducted in Iris found that the broiler chickens contained more nutrients than what the public perceived. In conclusion, it is clear that the manipulation of genetics outweighs its dangers. The reason is that knowledge in science is increased and that the DNA food saves a lot of lives during drought. Though some do not think so.