Despite a large number of gyms, a sedentary lifestyle is gaining popularity in the contemporary world. What problems are associated with this? What solutions can you suggest?

It's a well known fact that humans often prefer the easy way out of any situation presented to them. Let it be a maths equation you're struggling with or trying to cook without setting your house on fire, we usually look for a simpler alternative. This may also be the main reason why a sedentary lifestyle is gaining popularity. It requires less effort, and everything else gets pushed aside to be marked off to do later. As we continuously choose the tempting option of staying in for the day instead of going to the gym to get some cardio in, this can cause us many issues in the long run. Heart diseases, diabetes, and blood pressure are just a few of the long list of health complications that can occur. The longer the task of taking care of our body is put off, the higher the risks. Currently 34% of Malaysians are suffering from Obesity along with other diseases as they chose the effortless way out. Other nations are also suffering from this issue, as 35% of Americans are overweight and are dealing with illnesses. Although the large number of gyms are not making an impact, influence can. During these times, where we’re having lockdowns everywhere, most people resort to the internet. The lack of bread in stores encouraged people to make their own. From sourdoughs to focaccias, many took up baking as a new hobby and started implementing it into their day to day lives. The same with gyms. The lack of access to gyms has forced people to stay healthy at home and workout at least thrice a week. As a former unhealthy person myself, I’ve started to workout at home as well. There is frequently an excuse that we’re going out everyday, and that we’re tired but what's our excuse now? What are we going to blame it on? Along with the influence of making bread and working out as a community, the government should take some initiative as well. Students should be taught the importance of exercises such as jogging, swimming and cycling from a young age so that it is implemented into our day to day lives. As companies market cycling as a better alternative instead of booking a taxi, we often become a lot more responsible with what we do. In short, we repeatedly pick up on what is new at what others are doing. Joining a club or bringing a friend to the gym can make our time better, tricking our brains into thinking it's a piece of cake. The happier we are whilst doing something, the more we tend to do it. Make exercise a part of your self-care routine. Take pride in taking care of yourself. Make the experience enjoyable and it'll spare a couple years of your life.