Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that children can improve their knowledge by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both in their daily and school lives. In spite of that, I totally disagree with this idea since it may cause weak communication skills among the young generation and passive learning styles are not efficient enough to learn any sort of subjects. First of all, it is a known fact that communication skills are extremely important in our lives. However, if people encourage their kids or students to watch TV, they may lose these skills due to not talking with their supervisors but just watching a TV as a learning tool. For example, recent research concluded that the children who watched TV at least three hours a day for three years were not able to communicate with people as sufficient as the children who talked with their friends or relatives instead of watching television. Furthermore, television is a convenient mechanism if people want to improve their skills, yet it is not enough to learn at an advanced level since it is a passive learning tool. That is why children may not reach a successful level in terms of learning new skills since they can not ask any questions or talk to a television. For instance, a recent study found that children who tried to learn a new language by just watching TV were not successful as regards their speaking skills. To conclude, watching TV is a convenient tool in terms of passive learning. Nevertheless, teachers or parents should not encourage the young generation to watch television if they do not want to raise children who are passive learners and have weak communication skills.