Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

It is proved that our inborn traits have a greater impact on our nature than what we learn from our environment. I am not completely in accord with this idea as I believe that the way people are nurtured is more integral in deciding what kind of person they become in life. To commence with, research studies have been conducted to indicate that human possesses an instinctive nature to learn and absorb things that happened around the cribs. For example, child prodigies who have exceptional ability in languages have once been exposed to their parents ' languages. The only thing that set them apart from normal children is that they have never been taught to talk before. Therefore, it is obvious that the environment is a critical part of nurturing a child. Secondly, let alone genius children, kids with normal intelligence gain their language and communicable skills from their relatives and parents. Hence, they study social norms according to the culture they live. For instance, those who grow in a conservative family will strictly respect the rules and regulations of their society while for those in a liberal community, freedom and individual rights will be their primary value. Last but not the least, the experiences that children have to go through in their early periods play a pivotal role in how they view the world. In addition, the upbringing of their parents has an enormous influence on their perception. For instance, the more their parents express optimism, honesty, respectfulness and empathy, the more they understand such kind of good human qualities. Furthermore, even though they descend from a decent family, if they were brought up in a hostile environment, it would be challenging for them to function successfully in relating to people. In conclusion, the reason why human beings are on the top of the ecosystem is that we have evolved by continuous learning from our environment. This has propelled us to become the world's most successful survivors. Thus, it is the undeniable truth that the ups and downs of our surroundings take shape the characteristics of social animals like us rather than what kind of DNA we are born with.