A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefits cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this differences cause? How might these problems be reduced?

A nation can improve its living conditions, however, the positive impact is only felt in the urban regions, while suburbs are continually deprived. This essay will first discuss the challenges that can arise as a result and thereafter address solutions to the problems followed by a reasoned conclusion. Urbanisation is aimed to provide improved living conditions for citizens, although the rural settlements hardly benefit. The disparity in development can have some detrimental effects. Firstly, there is rural-urban drift which leads to overpopulation of the municipals. Because more job opportunities are available in cities, village dwellers move to towns in search of greener pastures. Consequently, human resources are devalued, there is an increased rate of unemployment and crime as well as environmental pollution. For example, recent studies show that most developed cities are overcrowded by different ethnic groups from neighbouring smaller towns leading to increased development of urban slums. Moreover, the homeland following rural emigration becomes populated by dependent masses. Consequently, further underdevelopment results as the working force cannot achieve the desired productivity. Hence, causing more movement of people to the already densely populated regions. These problems can be tackled at the government and individual levels. To begin with, authorities can provide basic infrastructures to villagers. As such, more citizens are able to care for their health and attend good schools. For instance, being a graduate will offer them more potential even when they travel out as they are better able to compete for jobs. Thus addressing unemployment. Similarly, individuals should struggle to develop their communities too. Various positions including vigilante groups, youth leaders, elders and traditional rulers can work together. Accordingly, they can communicate with the government concerning their areas of need. Therefore aiding authorities to better map out strategies to elevated their conditions. In conclusion, the development of only municipals can result in problems with rural-urban drift which can be sorted out by the government and the people through the measures highlighted.