Many young people today leave school with a negative attitude towards learning. What is the reason, and what can be done to encourage a positive attitude to learning?

Nowadays, a large number of teenagers are disillusioned with the education system. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty about the causes of the problem, and how it might be resolved. In this essay, I will review the issues in an effort to seek some answers. To begin with, many students are bored with studying because of the emphasis on repetition, or perhaps they consistently achieve low scores in their tests, so they prefer to leave school and find work. Moreover, environmental factors cannot be ignored, since if discipline is weak, and most students in the same classroom do not study, others will also give up their academic efforts. In addition, their family’s attitude affects them significantly, since many parents are too busy with their own work to focus on their children, who then become negative about education. On the other hand, however, these problems could easily be overcome with minor adjustments to educational philosophy and the curriculum, although this may require a change of policy in some schools. Furthermore, teachers could do more to motivate their students, highlighting the benefits of learning and setting up study competitions with small prizes as incentives. Also, parents need to focus on their children's studies, showing satisfaction when they obtain high scores, and encouraging and supporting instead of punishing them when their results are disappointing. To summarize, there is no doubt that some aspects of the education system serve to undermine many students’ commitment to learning, and change is long overdue. At the same time, however, there are many ways in which schools can reverse the trend, especially with the cooperation of families. In the final analysis, therefore, we must conclude that care and support both in the home and the school are needed for academic excellence.