Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly known that innovation has become more and more common in today’s learning environment, for,instance public libraries. While some people argue that these locations should provide only printed materials, others believe that new technologies and services, for,example computers, software and hardware, should be used to facilitate students’ learning, and I agree with the latter as opposed to the former. To begin with, public archives should adapt to accommodate new applications of technology for learning, research, and information because teenagers learn their subjects in different ways. Learning through different channels helps learners to understand their lectures from different perspectives. This is a fact that has been proven by a recent study carried out by the University of Toronto in which juveniles learn 80% faster when they can access the internet for self-study purposes. Since not everyone learns the same way, it is therefore evident that new learning technologies should be available for admissions at those places. Secondly, if media centres provided publications only, knowledge acquisition would be limited. The following is because the reports get damaged over time and the information written gets obsolete. To illustrate such a phenomenon, a study carried out by the University of Cambridge found that 20% of the bookshelves were getting mould from humidity and consequently damaging the older records, making them disposable. Since papers and notebooks get outdated and damaged, it is therefore clear that technology should be heavily invested in public bibliothecas to more effectively preserve and mine their collections online. In conclusion, the increasing investment in educational technology has brought up a lot of opportunities for learners. Hence, public studies should not be an exception to aforesaid trends and high-tech media should be used to keep knowledge available for library users.