Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packing are bad for the environment. What damage does do the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

Scientists predict that usage of plastics affects devastatingly the ecology and can occur catastrophic circumstances in the future. However, it is our responsibility to consume bags, bottles and packaging made out of plastic sensibly or try to avoid if possible. Meanwhile, governments should establish procedures to reduce usage. In the following essay, I am going to discuss this topic. To begin with, these non-perishable materials will damage the soil structure atrociously, hence insects and other microorganisms get affected. Because of this reason, adverse consequences that damage agriculture and cultivation are inevitable. For instance, there are some lands in Sri Lanka, scientists have made experiments, that can not do any cultivation regarded to the damage that happened due to the stacking of plastics. Nevertheless, endangered species will be affected drastically used to live in the sea, for example, Turtles, Seal fish. To illustrate, this can be seen in most beaches in Sri Lanka, plastics are stacked and some animals are used to consume. On the other hand, individuals, as well as the government should take responsibility and rapid actions need to be taken to eliminate immense effects that can be happened to the ecosystem by plastic. Firstly, authorities can establish policies that society must adhere to, for example, register a fine for the pedestrian's litter in public places, install litter bins in city areas by similar distance and society should be advised to separate garbage into groups such as plastics, food items and glass bottles. Secondly, implementing a proper recycling process is a must, so non-perishable items can be reprocessed and used in future industries. Thirdly, individuals have to play a vital role when littering and also, try to minimize plastic usage as much as possible. To conclude, by examining the aforementioned facts, there is a responsibility for each of us to save the earth from plastic disasters and all of us need to act upon this efficiently.