Some people think that it is acceptable for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The popularity of sports is now growing faster than ever before. Some people believe that as long as the performance of the athlete is superb, their behaviour on or off the field doesn't matter. I strongly disagree with the statement as their performance should not be a primary determinant of their behaviour. First and foremost, professional athletes must perform at their highest level. Professional athletes receive high paychecks for their ability to perform at the highest physical level in their assigned team. Thus, the performance athlete should not dictate their behaviour on or off the field. In addition, the misbehaviour of the athlete on or off the field will not only ruin the image of the athlete but will also ruin the team's image, and put the athlete in a predicament. In addition to this, professional athletes are role models for younger children who dream of becoming professional athletes themselves. Therefore, professional athletes misbehaving on or off the field is going to allow these young children to think such behaviour is acceptable as long as the performance is good. Such a way of thinking will result in attitude problems of children. Thus, To recapitulate, I adhere to the fact that professional athletes contribute a vital role in being outstanding leaders. Therefore, their behaviour on or off the field is essential and should never behave in such a way that incorrectly reflects their team and their image.