Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

It is often said that although walking is advantageous for health, people who are actually doing it become less and less nowadays. One of the main reasons for it is due to their tight work or school schedules and this problem can be solved by the implementation of necessary laws. First of all, one of the major causes of people not doing exercise is not having enough time to work out due to their busy schedules. Employees have to work from 9 am to 5 pm and in some cases, they have to work overtime, resulting in burnout, and feeling tired to go for a walk. As for the students, they have to go to school all day and when they come back home, they have to do homework and review their lessons in order to get outstanding achievements. For instance, when I was young, I had to go to school on weekdays and also had to attend extracurricular classes on weekends. Hence, I did not have much time to work out or go for a stroll. This problem can be addressed by the constitution and the implementation of laws by the government. The authorities can make sure that workers have a good work -life balance (having adequate working hours and having enough time to go for a walk or to do things that they enjoy doing) by enacting the necessary legislation. Moreover, regarding young learners, the government can add a physical education period into the school's curriculum or add a morning walking exercise routine before the classes start. For example, in Japan, both children and adults are able to do more physical activities such as walking, jogging and so after the government has established appropriate laws. In conclusion, having a busy schedule is one of the salient causes of lack of physical activities, especially walking, and this problem can be solved in the way that government enacts suitable legislation in schools and offices.