Some students tend to travel after finishing school and spend time working somewhere instead of going to the university directly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? (May 2021) Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There has been an upward trend of taking a few years off after finishing school by many students. While this may help some of them deal better with their career path, it also has a few disadvantages associated with it. The following essay will discuss the benefits and shortcomings of taking a sabbatical year or two before applying to universities. There are definitely a few upsides to this trend. Since getting a university education from a reputed institution is costly, working for a year or two can help raise all the necessary funding while giving them enough time to introspect about their career decisions. Moreover, it can also help them gain some hands-on experience in the field of their interest, thus giving a boost for their college applications to their preferred courses. For example, many technology firms are eager to hire fresh school graduates for internship jobs. This provides the students with relevant exposure and also helps them financially. On the other hand, there are significant downsides to this practice. If the ultimate aim is a professional career in fields like law, engineering and medicine, then this could stray them off the path eventually causing a delay in getting to their respective fields. Moreover, at times while making this decision some people get distracted from their ultimate goals thus diverting their focus to less important areas. For instance, a student aiming to become a doctor would waste a sizeable amount of time doing some other jobs not pertaining to their field, if they weren't focusing on their academics. Most fields like these require years of dedicated hard work to yield proper results and thus taking a sabbatical year will directly impact their career. In conclusion, taking some time off after finishing school has its advantages and drawbacks associated with it. While it may help some pupils in gaining experience and funding for their higher education, if not done judiciously, crucial time can be lost from their course path. If at all a student does make a decision like this, they should weigh in all the pros and cons before going forward with it.