Some people buy new models of phones, computers and other technology. Why? Is this a good or bad thing?

In contemporary settings, more and more people are fascinated by updated versions of some cutting-edge devices such as mobile phones or computers and purchase these gadgets regularly. The factors contributing to this phenomenon will be discussed in this essay along with the reasons why I believe this trend cuts both ways. Multiple factors result in this fascination of consumers. To be more specific, with economic development, most people’s disposal incomes have increased significantly, and this means that they can afford these items relatively easily. By contrast, if they are still struggling to fill their stomachs, they are less likely to show their interest in these items. In addition to this financial reason, as long as these devices are renewed, new functions will be added to them, and this always makes citizens’ lives more convenient. Therefore, for the sake of enjoying new and improved features, the vast majority of them have formed the habit of purchasing these gadgets at regular intervals. The practice of updating gadgets frequently can bring both benefits and drawbacks in equal measure. To commence with, in order to satisfy the huge demand for these items, companies should produce more of them and this creates more job vacancies for labourers. This will reduce the unemployment rate and criminal activities because employed people are less likely to commit crimes. On the other hand, after buying the new versions of these items, most consumers will dispose of the old ones. This will lead to an increment in the amount of solid waste. In conclusion, people are updating their gadgets frequently because of their improved financial situation and the desire to enjoy new features. This practice has both advantages and disadvantages in equal measure.