Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others think that the circumstances of a crime, and the reason for committing it should be considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are two different views about deciding on the punishment for each type of crime. A part of society believes we must place fixed punishment for anyone, Whereas another sector have opposite opinion and they say that it’s dependent on some agents like circumstances and motivations, Personally I think that we should notice all factors which are related to crimes. This essay will look into both ideas and finally outline my opinion. The first part of people believes that some agents including circumstances and motivations must be noticed in the punishment. The main reason for this view is that everyone has different mental features in any kind of situation and in resulting they might not do that crime if they had a different position. As a result, They think it’s not fair if these factors are not concerned. Secondly, another side of society believes that we should have an equal rule in facing crimes. The most important reason for this belief is that everyone must be equal against legislation and there should not be any exceptions for nobody. For example, if crossing the red light in traffic is a crime, doing that everywhere and by everyone must be recognised as a crime. Overall, I think the laws have to be flexible and the personal position should be concerned and consequently it’s more justly. An example for my opinion is a person who has a psychological disorder and might be unable to understand laws properly. In conclusion, while people have different views about punishment for crimes but I strongly recommend we must make laws that are flexible in crisis conditions.