Some people think that if a country is already rich, any addition in economic wealth does not make its citizen happier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although economic property aid people with advanced facilities to raise their living standards, it could create overwhelming workloads and mental issues, leading to discontent in life. Therefore, I partly agree with the notion that additional wealth could not enhance happiness levels in affluent nations. Further economic growth could assist the countries to develop more infrastructures and amenities for the civilians, improving their living conditions. More subsidies generated from economic wealth could allocate to constructing and leveling the public facilities and services such as the transport system, healthcare system, and accommodations for people. Thus, it increases the satisfaction rates of the residents as all their demands could be met thoroughly. Furthermore, improved facilities, including museums or sports centers, aid people to relieve their mental and physical tension, thereby making the citizens pleasurable. A salient instance of this is Sweden, which has high enjoyment levels, utilizes its monetary aids from additional wealth to construct a plethora of amusement parks. Despite that, intense pressure requires to boost the national economy could lower the happiness levels. Supplemental economic wealth demands people with long working hours; thus, they tend to be exhausted and experience greater pressure. This phenomenon could compromise people ’s mental health. Japan, for example, appears developed country in which numerous of its civilians suffer from depression and other mental illnesses. Becoming a workaholic or working overtime, moreover, means that people lack leisure time, thereby not feeling joy or pleasure in life. As follows, additional wealth could be non-beneficial for developed nations’ inhabitants. In conclusion, despite higher living standards, rich countries with further economic development could cause a devasting effect on civilians’ mental well-being, lowering satisfaction rates. Hence, I firmly believe that the government should concentrate equally on financial and emotional values to ensure sustainable living.