These days the fashions in clothing are constantly changing. Is this affecting individuals and the environment in a positive or a negative way? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge and experience.

In recent times, the popularity of fast fashion has increased rapidly. Constantly changing clothing trends have become the norm. I believe that this is negatively affecting our society, and in this essay I will discuss the reasons for my opinion. To begin with, I would like to point out that in today's world, clothes are quite expensive. For instance, a pair of jeans by the Spanish giant, Zara costs an average of 30 pounds. Now given that there are about seven different styles of jeans and the popularity of each keeps fluctuating, to be fashionable, one would have to spend over 210 pounds on jeans alone. Therefore in this era of rising rents and slowing economies, the habit of being fashionable can be a significant financial burden. Another dark side of fast fashion lies in its connection to child labour. To reduce costs, most garments are mass-produced by factories set up in third-world countries like Bangladesh and Vietnam. In order to maximise profits, many factories employ children and make them work long hours with no breaks. With rapidly changing trends the demand for new clothes keeps growing and to keep up more and more minors are employed. Recent reports by WHO have affirmed that fast fashion is one of the main causes for a tenfold rise in children dropping out of schools in Bangladesh, as parents prefer to have an additional income rather than send their young for education. In conclusion, I would like to say the growing demand for fast fashion is hurting today's world, as it encourages unnecessary spending and promotes the exploitation of children.