The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In this present, world tourism is the paramount leisure activity undertaken by most humans who crave exploration and sightseeing. The tremendous focus has been provided to the travel industry by the majority of countries in the world and English have been made the uniform language of conversation. In this essay, I will discuss both merits and demerits of giving more emphasis to one language of communication to promote revenue or business from travellers. To begin with, people nowadays show more interest in exploring various parts of the world. This has caused the locals living in the host country to adapt themselves by learning only one general language for communication. Moreover, this has enabled them to converse better and figure out options to increase revenue or profits via these travellers. For instance, there is recent study shows that nearly 78% of people living in hot tourist destinations across the world are able to speak, read and write English fluently. Also, the gross GDP of these destinations have increased year on year to a great extent from the past 5 years. This shows how much focus has been provided by citizens of these places only to one means of communication to provide a better lifestyle and monetary benefit. Firstly, the main negative side of having only one language spoken globally is the local language are been suppressed and the literature available for them are slowly forgotten. Secondly, children present in these tourist hot spots are becoming more focused on this foreign accent because it gives them money and other benefits from their governments. Finally, these native people are losing their own traditional values and culture. They are now transforming into a hybrid of western and native cultures, by this their core values are getting lost. There should be more actions were taken by both individuals and corresponding governments to take necessary actions to preserve their native tongue accordingly. To summarise, as more focus been given to tourism industry to attract more tourists to visit their nations. They are losing their core native languages and they are becoming more competent in English since that is spoken widely.