In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

There is a controversial notion heating up a debate over why do consumers choose imported food over local food. This essay is devoted to analyzing the roots with equivalent solutions, followed by parallel justifications. Without a shadow of a doubt, there are a wealth of reasons why people want to buy imported rather than local food, one of them is the needs of customers. In this day and age, people have already used local products for years and years which sometimes may bore them. So that they want to find a new and fresh product that brings them a new experience rather than use the local one which they have used for a long time and they want to buy some groceries that are limited in their area. Especially the products that are imported from foreiegn countries such as America or the UK are believed to have higher quality than other countries with some unique products. For example, in Vietnam especially the young who always want to try something new are looking for some products like kiwi, apple,... which are imported from foreign countries rather than use the local one although the price may be double or triple than the price of local products. In my opinion, those are the main reasons why people want to buy imported products instead of using local ones. However, to deal with this problem there are a wealth of effective methods, one of them is to encourage people to buy local products and improve the quality of product to meet the needs of the residents. In order to encourage people, the leading manufacturing company should fund marketing and improve the quality of the product. For example, in VietNam the leading enterprise called Vingroup has encouraged people by improving the product with highest quality, funding marketing to get more customers and reducing the price for people with sale events. Hence, enhancing the quality of products is one of the most effective ways to encourage people to use local products. In conclusion, while there are many reasons why customers choose to buy imported commodities, some measures should be adopted to handle this problem.