In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

It is true that recently increasingly more dwellers have purchased food overseas rather than local products. This essay is devoted to analyzing the underlying culprit, followed by a practical resolution for this phenomenon. Without a shadow of a doubt, one of the chief reasons to pin down why people consider buying non-local food is due to state-of-the-art technology in developed countries. Indeed, in some advanced countries, cutting-edge automated machines are employed in the process of manufacturing food products. Therefore, these products might have higher quality as well as better hygiene, tremendously benefiting consumers in terms of health. For example, in America, beef is packaged in germ-free conditions thanks to top-notch machinery, resulting in longer preservation, yet the beef still retains flavours and nutritions, which is suitable for cross-bordered delivery. That is why people tend to use imported food products instead of local ones. While the key root for the increase in the buying of non-local products is widely acknowledged, one plausible measure to tackle this issue is for the government to allocate national budgets to the employment of more modern technology. This is because should these technologies be equipped in the manufacturing of domestic food products, these products may have a chance to compete with non-local ones owing to the same quality, yet cost less due to fewer taxes imposed. For example, ST-21, a type of rice produced locally in Vietnam which has the same quality as rice imported from Thailand, often comes with a more reasonable price than that of Thailand since importing taxes are not levied. Such affordable food, as a result, might attract the majority of shoppers and alleviate their dependence on food overseas. In conclusion, due to more advanced machinery, inhabitants are likely to purchase food from other nations, yet this trend can be tackled provided that more funds from authorities are invested to employ these machines. In my opinion, inhabitants should take domestic food into consideration in an attempt to enhance their countries’ economy.