Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

One of the most important discussions involves the right behaviour scheme that parents should have with their children. A half of them believes that their presence is necessary and on the contrary, the other half states that being auto-sufficient is the point. With regards to this double vision, I think that this society needs independent people able to take their own decisions. On one hand, some parents prefer to be a stable presence not only for the growth of their children but also for the minimum decisions. They are strongly convinced that the lack of some advices could culminate in the result of a selfish personality. For example, taking their point of view into account, they believe that the idea of experimenting the companionship and the act of sharing thoughts and decisions is a key concept for the development of a child. On the other hand, another common vision argued by some couples is to allow children to choose which is better for them. This form of permission can be considered as an enormous step in order to achieve a subsequent life’s independence. For instance, if children are getting use to discovering the world by themselves, they will be able to stay alone for a long time and the risk of suffering from loneliness will be drastically minimised. To conclude, even though the debate is still present, I personally believe that developing the ability to decide can also set essential boundaries, which are essential in order to ensure them the right balance in a successful life.