The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that Hollywood and other American entertainment companies are long-lasting leaders in the film industry. Many countries develop special local programs to financially support new series or film productions. I strongly believe, that such a policy should be an obligation for governments, it is crucial to support the cultural identity and promote the country's life through the most popular entertainment resource. The first point to consider is that films usually promote the cultural code of the country where they were directed and made. For example, the most popular series "Friends" shows the day life of a group of people with specific habits, jokes and behaviour. Moreover, there are hiding advertisements that work well on young generations. As a result, millions of fans from Russia to China want to be like those characters. Another argument that supports the idea of spending money on a local cinema production is to show the specific vibe and life approach which are related to the local region and to promote it within the country or even globally in case of success. It has been proved that more than eighty per cent of information related to the specific country people get from series or films. Therefore, governments should use this tool to advertise culture among citizens and foreigners. To conclude, I would like to say that while American film-making companies are doing a great job, moreover they provide quality content. I strongly believe that the governments should do their best to support local directors and producers to promote the identity and the lifestyle of their countries.