Today, many young people spend too much of their free time at shopping malls. This can considered negative for young people and society generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

History proves that courage and will have no age. Today's younger generation is seen as tomorrow’s future. As we have placed our hope in the youth, we cannot help but want the best for them. Adolescents have been seen to spend too much of their free time at shopping malls these days. Many say that this is going to affect our society generally and I could not agree more with that statement. Although visiting the mall every once in a while to get an escape from your dreaded daily cycle sounds heavenly, this has become a part of the teenagers daily routine. Firstly, I'd like to mention that we are willingly falling into the company's trap. The more you see the products, the more you crave them. We tend to want things we do not necessarily need. Spending becomes an issue, and at such a young age, it becomes addicting. There goes your college fund on your new designer shoes that you did not need. Shopping almost becomes their type of therapy, as it makes them feel better, however, this is not a healthy way to deal with the problems in your day to day life. Aside from spending, living in a busy environment every day makes us feel normal, and eventually, comfortable. When we come home to a peaceful and quiet environment, it feels abnormal, and can often make us anxious, as if something is wrong. 18% of Malaysians tend to feel uncomfortable and experience anxiety in quiet settings and that includes me. Especially during this time, in the midst of a pandemic, it's hard to lock ourselves up at home and many people go through depression. The Malaysian government had to lift lockdowns due to the rising rates of depression to a shocking 46% of the capital’s population. In short, spending time at shopping malls can be rewarding if done every once in a while, however, everything in life should be done in moderation for a healthy lifestyle.