Walking is known to be beneficial for health yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Health problems have been increasing these days due to lack of fitness. Walking improves health but the number of people walking on roads has become lower nowadays. In this essay, I will give the reasons why this activity is decreasing recently and how we can address this issue. Increase in the ownership of vehicles and services that are available in the market. Firstly, all the things that are far away before have come closer due to demand on top of this individuals have started owning vehicles. For example, previously the restaurants were really rare to appear but now they are all over the place. Moreover, before there were no applications like swiggy or zomato who does deliver groceries to home for a little charge. Even if the person has to travel longer distances citizens are accustomed to taking their bike more often than walking. Asking governments to increase taxes on bikes and encourage the public to use footpaths more. If the authorities take an action to increase the charge on personal vehicles then citizens buying rate would go down which in turn makes the public walk more. Although there are footpaths all over the roads there is less number of people using them. Clubs need to step up and have some awareness walking programs so that people will realise how important it is to walk 6000 steps a day. Finally, if the person is encouraged to walk more by providing the right options then the fitness will improve over time. In conclusion, while there are some serious implications of not having fitness many people do not maintain this. Even though the way people work has changed a lot there are some steps that leadership could take to increase people on the roads.