In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Plastic wastes are extremely injurious to people as well as to the ecosystem. In most countries, the primary source of pollution is due to polythene bags which are provided in shopping centres. They are contributing a major role in contaminating the land as well as the water bodies. In my opinion, I agree that the usage of them must be banned. The first and foremost reason to avoid using them is due to their non-degradable nature. Even after 100 years they remain the same on the earth and pollute the environment as well as the inhabitants around. Secondly, the fertility of the soil is greatly affected which indirectly spoil agriculture and the harvest. Moreover, when plastic bags enter into the water bodies the marine creatures get negative effects and eventually it becomes fatal to their life. However, the plastic bags are knowingly or unknowingly disposed of and stay somewhere and lead to detrimental effects. Furthermore, It is extremely important to ban providing plastic bags in the shops. The government should impose a law to prohibit the use of those bags and should be punishable if anyone disobeys or violate the rules. This will enable the creation of pollution-free land and water bodies. For example, nowadays in south India plastic bags are banned and replaced by paper bags. There are significant positive changes are happening around since they implemented the law to avoid using polythenes. In conclusion, I would agree to ban the usage of plastic bags in shopping malls and markets etc. This could be a wise decision if implemented effectively to preserve our ecosystem from getting polluted.