Many young people today leave school with a negative attitude towards learning. What is the reason, and what can be done to encourage a positive attitude to learning.

More and more young students hold poor attitudes towards schooling now. There is one major reason behind such a phenomenon. In this essay, I will elaborate on the cause and suggest effective solutions to stimulate students ’ motivation. The main trigger why most young people develop a negative attitude towards learning is too out-of-date teaching methods. For example, nowadays, numerous schools especially primary and middle schools still are choosing reading books as core teaching, assessing students merely via requiring pupils to recite the textbook mechanically. Therefore, rigid teaching will eventually lead to boredom towards learning and a lack of motivation and interest. Even worse, students will have negative feelings in terms of wasting time, and finally resulting in learning nothing. Hence, as learning becomes a burden and boring task for youngsters, they inevitably tend to drop out of school. Nevertheless, some viable measures can be taken to tackle such a problem. First and forest, as teachers, they have to cultivate a growth mindset by increasing reading and attending related lectures or conferences. In this way, they will be more experienced and skilled, reinforcing their teaching abilities with the addition of various course elements to arouse students ’ enthusiasm. Secondly, school leaders can release positive incentives for schooling improvement, such as bonuses for good teachers. At the same time, some necessary punishment might be enforced on those teachers who refuse to grow. Last but not the least, from governments' perspectives, allocation of funds to schools and teachers to do the teaching research is needed and essential. In this way, it is more likely to improve teaching quality and attract more students to stay in. In conclusion, if schools and teachers believe in too traditional opinions towards teaching, leaving schools will be the only choice for young people. However, since the collaboration and promotion of teaching resources by the efforts of teachers, schools, and local authorities, students will be encouraged to have the desire and preference for studying.