Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Is it a positive or negative development?

With the flourishing of multinational companies, people can buy the same products worldwide, and countries are becoming more and more similar. I think this is a positive development, and I shall support my view with some arguments in this essay. First of all, when people can buy the same product anywhere, the quality will increase, and the price will decrease. The catfish effect occurs when multinational corporations break the monopoly of local businesses with their strong economic power, resulting in increased competition in regional markets. In order to win or retain market share, both multinationals and local companies need to improve the competitiveness of their products, for example, in terms of quality levels and price standards. With the difficulty of forming a new monopoly, consumers will be able to buy more cost-effective products, and the company will gain a larger market, thus creating a win-win situation. Furthermore, being able to buy the same things in different areas will make people more aware of different cultures. Every nation has a different culture, and it is impossible for the public to understand each one of them actively. However, using the same things can subconsciously increase people's understanding and even identification with the cultures behind different products. For instance, Marvel figurines, which are visible worldwide, invariably introduce children all over the world to the heroism of American culture. It is part of globalisation and a part of allowing everyone to embrace cultural diversity. In conclusion, I reiterate my opinion that buying the same products as the rest of the world locally and that making countries more similar is a win-win strategy for individuals and companies and increases awareness of different cultures.