Many claims that the fast-food industry had a negative effect on the environment, eating habits, and families. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the convenience food industry had a devastating impact on our surroundings and families as well as influenced unhealthy eating habits. This essay completely agrees with this statement because of the negative impacts and challenges that it has contributed to the environment and the community. This essay will examine my views in detail with relevant examples. To begin with, the fast-food industry has contributed to environmental challenges that we face today such as land pollution. That is to say that the plastic packages that are used in such industry caused an increase in landfill sites all over the world, which in turn lowered the quality of the soil. In addition, they are non-biodegradable plastics which cannot  be recycled by any means. For example, it is evident that an average of 30% of land area is dumped with such plastic materials which has polluted the underground water due to the release of toxins from the waste. Secondly, this industry influences unhealthy eating habits among the citizens. People are relying on such convenience foods mainly because of its affordability and accessibility, however, such foods have high sugar and salt content which in turn causes health-related issues such as obesity and high cholesterol. For instance, the World Health Organisation has conducted research and found that one in every five children is impacted by the overweight problem. Moreover, such unhealthy eating practices impacted their families and pressed healthcare professionals to provide treatments.  In conclusion, it is true that the fast-food industry has contributed to significant challenges that we are encountering today, such as environmental pollution, an overweight population, and placing stress on healthcare systems. I believe that the government should take some significant measures to control the widespread issues.