To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

The exponential population surge presents multifaceted challenges encompassing socioeconomic and environmental dimensions. It is for this reason that some argue that we ought to consume insects to avoid food shortages while others are of the opinion that it can be both unsafe and disruptive to nature. This essay will discuss the merits as well as the downsides of this idea. On the one hand, if we introduce a new source to our diets, we will not only enable preserving forests but also diversify food options. If citizens ate insects, for example, fewer trees would be cut in order to grow crops and grains by farmers, a recent Harvard study revealed. As a result, the fewer plants and bushes are cut, the more forests are preserved. Moreover, eating insects which constitute a super-rich source of protein can also introduce a tremendously needed diversity in human cuisine. Therefore, this new phenomenon not only will alleviate environmental standards by keeping forests intact but also will provide a more diverse variety of options on the menu. On the other hand, the disadvantages can be devastating both in terms of citizen's health and nature's imbalance. If humans develop an addiction to consuming hazardous species, they will risk severe illnesses such as cardiovascular and respiratory diseases, for instance. A spectrum of insects such as mosquitoes, worms and cockroaches, for example, can bring about malicious ramifications and impede people's well-being. Furthermore, hunting and harvesting these species will comprise a profit-making business in that situation which will result in unintended repercussions such as disrupting the balance of the ecosystem. Hence, serious illnesses and an imbalanced ecosystem are pitfalls associated with this double-edged proposal. In conclusion, many concerned citizens are researching meticulously and investigating methods to recommend alternative sources of nutrients for human's consistently rising consumption in order to address the consequences of the exponential population surge. Although preserving forests and introducing a diversified menu are the benefits of this phenomenon, incurring fatal sicknesses and disrupting the balance of the ecosystem constitute its drawbacks.