Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many of the world's major cities. Explain some possible reasons for this problem, and suggest some solutions.

Nowadays, the most common problem in the world's major cities is Traffic congestion. The main reasons for this are a large number of private cars ownership and inadequate public transportation. let us talk about it in this essay. Firstly, the most common reason for traffic congestion is a lot of people tend to use cars for their daily activities rather than using public transportation. This is reasonable because,in some countries, a car can cost as cheap as ten thousand dollars. Furthermore, When a lot of automobiles occupied the road spaces, it will create a traffic jam. Although Placing additional lanes will not solve the problems, on the contrary, it will generate more bottlenecks. This condition will be getting worse if the public transportation services are poor. For example, Jakarta of Indonesian capital city. Nearly eighty per cent of the citizens use private vehicles as their daily mode of transportation. Right now, Jakarta becomes the most congested city in Indonesia. To solve the problems, The Government should improve public transportation quality as comfortable as using private vehicles. In addition to the quality, public transportation capacities should be increased by building a busway line. The Bus Rapid Transit will operate as a feeder for the MRT line and serve downtown areas. As for rural areas, a Metro line must be built to catch the demand from hinterlands. Another simple solution is to encourage people for walking and bicycle by providing good pedestrian ways and bike lanes. For example, Japan Government prohibit cars and motorcycles to operate in the morning rush and increase vehicles tax to reduce cars ownership. To conclude, the main cause of traffic congestion in the world's major cities is the number of private cars ownership increase rapidly meanwhile road and Metro development is lagging behind. A simple solution is encouraging people to walk, and building more public transportation services.