Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is certainly true that environmental complications should be taken seriously in order to prevent disasters in the future. Unfortunately, however, most societies do not take this threat seriously enough and this is for a number of reasons. The following essay will outline why the majority of people do not care enough about the environment. Perhaps the main reason people do not give the environment much thought is that at the moment it does not affect their daily life. This is because, generally, they cannot see how global warming or pollution is destroying the environment. It is only when a crisis occurs, such as flooding, that people start to consider the reasons behind it. However, these are soon forgotten and the situation is once again ignored. Another reason environmental issues are ignored is that people do not know enough about them. Although it is generally understood that recycling helps to save resources, this is perhaps the only step people take to help the situation. Most populations have heard of global warming and pollution, but do not fully understand their implications of them. If they did, sure they would use their car less and try at all costs to save resources more. Many nations also believe that these environmental issues will not impact society for another 50 to 100 years. Consequently, people feel these trouble can be dealt with then by future generations. Overall, therefore, whilst there may be some society who are fully aware of the environmental problems facing the planet, the majority of the population still do not give them the attention they deserve.