Some people believe that it is good to share as much as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions differ on whether different information in science or business should be shared freely or not. While I believe that sharing data has enormous advantages, I reckon some types of info should be kept secret. On the one hand, there are several situations where sharing data could be beneficial. Academic research is a good example. Collaboration between universities even those who are placed in different continents has been common for several years. For respecting the rights of researchers, there are many protocols like NDA that make this joining safe and secure for both sides. Moreover, when humankind is struggling with a worldwide disease like Covid, sharing findings of the ways of stopping it from spreading or curing the patients is a task for each doctor. Also, each company needs the flow of information between its employees to be clear and straight. Businesses’ thrive depending on the level of their human resources knowledge. On the other hand, there is critical information that if be accessible for everyone could result in catastrophic events. The knowledge of the creation of missiles and atomic bombs are such examples that the case of seepage would threaten the lives of many people around the world. Although sharing health care knowledge is ethical, the rights of inventors and explorers should be considered too. If their discoveries are shared out, their enthusiasm for further research would vanish after a while. In conclusion, sharing information freely is a good practice for many situations, but there are some cases that restricting public access is inevitable.