Some people think that governments should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes, others argue that this money should be spent on sports facilities for ordinary people. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

According to some people, the government should invest more money in sporting facilities to train top athletes; others, however, insist that this money should be spent on building sports facilities for ordinary people. In my opinion, it is important to allocate funds for both equally. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will elaborate on both viewpoints. On the one hand, there are several reasons to spend money on sports facilities for a top competitors. To commence with, society argues that sportspersons bring fame and glory to a nation by winning a medal or trophy in events such as the Olympics and the World Cup. After all, this increases the global recognition of a nation as well as help them gain respect in the eyes of the world. So, it is crucial for the state to invest in state-of-the-art training material for their player so that they can perform better at international events. Secondly, due to the popularity of players, they positively encourage the youth of the nation to adopt sports and lead a healthy lifestyle; consequently, adults and children are enticed to exercise and become healthier. This helps the country as a whole because when communities are fit/healthy, they exert less pressure on the healthcare system. On the other hand, there are some reasons to invest in sports apparatus for the ordinary public as well. Firstly, it is a fact that today’s generation leads a sedentary lifestyle causing many health problems in adults as well as children. So, it is crucial to build places where residents can go to activities and be involved in physical activities. In,cities there are limited open spaces or gardens to workout, to tackle this problem the authority should construct indoor gyms and auditoriums for society to enjoy themselves and exercise. Secondly, such places can also organize recreational group activities like yoga, kick-boxing and Zumba which will further help a large number of crowds at the same time and under the same roof. Furthermore, the government can charge a nominal fee to provide access to these places, which will assist in the maintenance and nullify expenditure too. In my opinion, the government should spend on machinery which can be used by both top athletes and common people, though it can have dedicated apparatus to be used exclusively by athletes. Although it is fundamental to cater to the needs of the local nation, it is essential to work towards global achievements, and sports is one of the spectrums wherein with hard work and dedication a country can upscale their name and honour. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that sports facilities are essential for both athletes and laymen as they help them to train and stay physically active. So, the government should spend its budget wisely to make facilities available for everyone.