Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is thus a positive or negative development?

Imported goods may be far more popular in many supermarkets in comparison to local products. This essay will explain the reasons behind the situation and highlight my opinion on why it is a negative development. Supermarkets are often able to make more profit out of imported products, and this is the primary reason why imported goods are more accessible in supermarkets. In Turkey, for example, locally sourced vegetables and dairy products are much more expensive than imported goods due to the increasing fuel oil prices and logistics expenses. Supermarkets and grocery chains, therefore, examine the prices and in most cases, they tend to prefer imported products. Consequently, customers would be more likely to purchase the imported items because of their lower cost. The second reason is the wide selection range in imported goods. Giant supermarket chains, such as Coles and Woolworths, often aim to present more options to their customers in order to be the preferred grocery shopping address. Since local farmers and manufacturers may not be able to supply a wide range of products, imported goods would often be the main solution for these companies. Customers, similarly, often seek different product options in terms of the lower price, or better quality, and it usually ends up purchasing imported goods rather than supporting local production. Given the importance of a strong local economy and local production, though, I would definitely argue that it is a negative development. For instance, if supermarkets choose the local products over imported goods, the money would not be transferred out of the country and the resources would stay within the local economy. Local production would also improve and increase, therefore, there would be more employment opportunities for citizens. In the long-term period, supporting the local products would benefit both the local market and the community. In conclusion, supermarkets may continue to prioritize purchasing imported items because of a number of reasons, such as keeping the profits up by offering a range of different product options. In my opinion, this is a negative development since it does not consider the wealth of the local markets and their components.