Some people believe that using animals to test the safety of human medicines is cruel and unwarranted, whereas others feel it is a medical necessity. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Every life is precious and should be treated as such. However, when a new disease appears on the scene, finding the right medication might mean experimenting with animal life as a means for testing. There are arguments for and against this idea of using animals for this purpose with many suggesting that it is unnatural to do so while others concur with it. Personally, I agree with the use of animals as laboratory rats. This essay will discuss both of these views and reflect my opinion. To begin with, some people feel that the use of animals as a testing medium leaves much to be desired as the following reason will prove. Since every life be it that of an animal or that of a person, should be considered sacred and receive equal treatment. In other words, if no medicine meant for animals can initially be tried on humans before it is used on animals, then the opposite should not happen as they are both considered vital. Take, for instance, swine flu that claimed millions of animal life no human trials were conducted to check the effectiveness of the vaccine before using it on affected animals. Despite that being the case, I still believe disagree with this notion. On one hand, other individuals believe that animals should still be used for medical trials before being administered to humans due to the following reason. Although both animal and human lives are important, humans should be given priority since their bodies unlike those of animals, do not have certain abilities to fight off illnesses. To put it in perspective, animals have the ability to fight off countless diseases without the aid of medicines and so if they are first tried on, they are less likely to die as opposed to humans. For example, the venom from a snake that can easily kill any human can not do so when introduced in a horse since this animal has the ability to fight off the effects of poison from a snake. For the foregoing reason, I believe animals should be used for this purpose. In conclusion, in as much as others might argue that using animals is unfair because their lives are just as precious as human's, it goes without saying that human bodies are incapable of fighting off illnesses that animals can. Henceforth, I strongly agree with the sentiment that animals are best used for such.