Some people believe that public celebrations like national days and festivals are a waste of money. They are of the opinion that people should spend money on more important things. Do you agree or disagree? Support your arguments with examples from your own experience.

Holidays and national celebrations are thought to be a way of upholding the heritage of a country. However, these events require a lot of funds in order to be successful. There are arguments for and against the idea of spending substantial amounts of money on such events which could otherwise be used for other purposes. Personally, I agree with this notion that money spent on such is a waste. This essay will discuss why I hold this view. To begin with, although many people and governments spend a lot of resources and money on public celebrations, they still struggle to pay for reasonable health services. In other words, instead of spending money on one event that only results in pleasure, people should focus on the real issue of dealing with the struggles they face when it comes to covering medical expenses that could save a life. Take, for instance, if all the funds meant for public celebrations were used to subsidise medical expenses, then everyone could benefit unlike a few beneficiaries during such celebrations. Additionally, as opposed to a national festival that only takes place in a day, numerous problems many countries face are long term. To put it in perspective, rather than wasting money on a one-day celebration, a government should opt to channel that money in the fight against poverty. To illustrate, during independence day celebration preparations, the Zambian government spends not less than $40000 meanwhile they struggle to eradicate poverty which according to economists requires only $25000 to curb. In conclusion, regardless of how rich a nation might be, it is still a waste of money to spend it on one-day national festivals and celebrations. I strongly believe and agree that such funds should instead be used to fight poverty and improve the health care system