Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which view point do you agree with?

It is commonly argued that advertising persuades us to buy necessary things, nonetheless, some hold the view that averts provide a way to find useful things which are invaluable for life. It cannot be denied that advertisements inform us to find new products and offer a variety of choices. However, I personally believe that advertisements are trying to manipulate and use false information to influence the customers. The first reason for my view is that advertisers always use high status, glamorous people or celebrity endorsements to persuade the customers. As a consequence, people will believe that they can fulfil their necessities and become happier by using their promoted products. For example, a person will buy beauty products because he or she wants to become a good looking person like the performer in the advertisements. In reality, most of their products will not be able to fulfil the customer’s needs as they advertise in the ads. By viewing this point, people will buy the products which they don’t really need because of the influence of advertisements. Another reason is that the advertisements always exaggerate or use false information just to attract customers. Indeed their products are not qualified enough to sell, they always use high budgets on marketing campaigns to sell to the consumers. As a result, people will buy unnecessary things rather than buying daily basic items. In conclusion, some advertisements may introduce new items which will be useful for us but most of the advertisements manipulate us and persuade us to buy their unqualified and necessary things.