In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In rural areas, we could see that the number of fast- food joints is increasing day by day. It is always believed that fast food is one of the major reasons for health issues and also some people think that government should impose a higher tax and regulate them by law. I completely disagree with this statement as fast food is not the main purpose for public wellness. In recent studies conducted by medical professionals, It is found that people suffer from several deadly diseases due to pollution, irregular sleeping habits and lack of exercise etc, Likewise, the polluted air and water released out of factories cause most of the health problems. In developing countries, They have no proper facilities to treat the drinking water and which causes diseases like Typhoid and Cancer. moreover, people who work in severe stressful conditions like IT / Technology company employees were prone to irregular sleeping habits. For instance, People used to sit in front of computers for long hours could affect their eyes and spine. Although there are some instances where a few health issues were also caused due to fast food, it is not as concerning factor as we discussed above. Even if the state urges to levy extra taxes on these hotels, these taxes would be directly transferred to the customers as a result and I believe that this will not close down the eat out itself or increase their food standards. The government can regulate these fast foods by asking the food department to conduct a spot check on the ingredients, cooking methods and so on. In Conclusion, I would like to pen down my opinion that these fast food are to be regulated by the government by restricting their vulnerable ingredients and methods of cooking, instead of applying heavy tax. We can also understand that fast foods are not the prime objective for several health issues. There are many other concerning reason like pollution which needs to be addressed first.