In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The future predicts people will stop buying physically-published newspapers and books as they have free access to these reading materials online. I partially agree with the prediction for some reasons that will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, I do agree that in the future, the demand for printed newspapers will be almost zero because a lot of news will be available on the internet without any charges. Although some media companies with online news portals are starting to charge users a fix amount of fee to read their articles, there are many others offer free-of-charge write-ups. For example, readers can always find alternative stories regarding a specific headline in an application called Google news. With the app, users can find their way to read about a story without having to pay a single penny. On the other hand, I do not agree on the part of the statement that says printed books will not be purchased by readers because there will be free-versions online. As an avid reader myself, it is hard for me to find e- books that I wish to read on the internet for free. The reason being is because authors tend to be very resistance towards this business model as their main income is solely from the sales of their creative work. For instance, if all of them are available for free, how can these authors get their compensation for the money and time spent curating their stories and thoughts into hundred-pages books? In conclusion, I partially agree that all printed reading materials will become extinct due to the dying demand. However, not all of them, such as books, are widely accessible without any charges now nor sometime in future.