Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, some individuals opine that the choices in our lives have greatly extended. I agree with this statement as modernisation and technology have made our world into a small global village whereby everything is easily accessible just through a click of a button. Besides that, cultural assimilation has led to the acceptance of religious and traditional differences. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate further regarding my perspectives. In the past, the advancement of transportation was very limited and people get to purchase only things which were available near to their village. It is too costly to travel to larger towns or cities. There was a limited range of products which they were offered and online marketing was also not available. Today, however, the public get to move easily through the advancement of public transportation. Telemarketing has become so famous that any product and service could be easily attainable right in front of our doorstep. For example, websites linking to different companies across the globe advertising their products gives us a variety of options to choose be it from clothes, jewellery, food or electronic devices. Secondly, society is more open to a diversity of religious and cultural traditions due to the plethora of dating websites and social media enabling communication from every corner of the world. Religious dogmas such as the cast and dowry system have lost their importance as time goes by. community generally tend to accept their differences much better and inter-religious, inter-racial and international marriages have increased over time. For example, people have more options nowadays and their values of finding a potential mate have changed drastically compared to previously whereby match-making was the only possible option given. They are becoming more open and flexible to their differences compared to our forefathers. In conclusion, modernisation has definitely improved the quality of life by providing us with better alternatives. Nevertheless, we still need to bear in mind that limiting ourselves from overspending and maintaining social and moral values are equally important in order to make sure that we do not stir away from the positive path in the process of enjoying the freedom granted to us.