In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

" Work hard or die trying" so goes the old adage. In order for parents to preserve their heritage and tradition, they often tell their children not to give up in trying to achieve something regardless of how difficult the task might be. This essay will tackle both the benefits and consequences of such actions. There are basically two advantages that spring from taking this route as the following reasons will prove. To begin with, telling children to continue pursuing a certain course until they achieve their goal, instils a hardworking mentality in them. In other words, they will come to understand that in order to get what they need, they will have to work even harder to get it. Take, for instance, when a child who is at the university comes across some difficulties in his career, he will not give up until he overcomes that hurdle. Additionally, once a child has been told to never give up, it will help increase his output and productivity. Since most of the time a child will be working hard to achieve his set goal, the outcome will be huge. As an example, a child who finds challenges in riding a new bicycle can invent new ways of doing so because he never gave up. On the other hand, this comes with some disadvantages. Although, a person can try to make something work on several occasions, if he is incapable of getting it done nothing will change except that he would have wasted a lot of time. To put this in perspective, if a child is not good at building projects, no matter how much motivation he can get from his parents he will still fail to achieve it because his mind can not master it. For example, instead of concentrating on focusing his energy and time on things he knows can be achieved, a child will keep struggling to make something he simply can not make all in the name of trying hard. Secondly, when a child out of trying makes a project that he can not, then the kind of work done will not be professional. For instance, a child who has been struggling to make a chair finally doe so, the chair can not be strong enough to serve its purpose. In conclusion, there exists both advantages and disadvantages in guardian's telling their children to keep trying in order to reach their goals. Despite a child being able to become productive and hardworking, he can also be wasting his time in trying to make something he simply can not manage to.