Nowadays, traffic is a serious problem in big cities. Why this is so and what effects does it bring?

In this day and age, traffic congestion has become a huge problem in many developed cities. I believe the reasons for this are the ever-climbing number of vehicles and poor traffic discipline. Like any problem, this can also be fixed. People can take public transport rather than travel in their own vehicles, and governments can take the initiative and make traffic rules stricter. The major issue is that more people are buying their own vehicles in order to commute to places. This increases the number of vehicles on the road at a given time. Since many roads are not big enough to accommodate this many cars, it leads to a traffic jam. Apart from this, the other problem is that many civilians are driving recklessly and follow no traffic rules. These types of acts slow down the flow of traffic, resulting in the halting of vehicles on the roads. For instance, research reveals that more than 70% of Indians disregard traffic signals and road lines. The only way to deal with the increase in the number of vehicles is by encouraging people to take public transport. Japan is one of the few countries with a majority of people who use public transport, so there is no traffic congestion. Finally, governments should impose punishments on people who disobey traffic rules. There can be a huge fine or temporary confiscation of the license in order to make people drive in an orderly manner. In conclusion, public transport can tackle the problem of the increase in vehicle numbers, and being strict with lawbreakers can deter them from making the same mistakes again.