There seems to be na increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

The rate of serious crimes has been increasing annually. In order to overcome this relevant social problem, many defend the death penalty instead of alternative measures. Considering that this is a polemic topic, this essay aims to discuss both points of view. To begin, the death penalty is the most extreme measure that can be taken, therefore it should be an exception, not the general rule. Considering the above-mentioned tendency of growth, if governments keep sending people to die, there would be more deaths and violence in the end. In other words, the violence of the streets and by the governement. So, focusing on the death penalty does not contribute to a reduction of deaths and violence rates. Alternatively, while still considering the death penalty for exceptional cases, there are a number of measures that can be taken into account in order to address the violence problem. Firstly, if the end objective is to reduce violence and serious crimes, gun control is essential. Secondly, reducing drug cartel's powers by "tracing the money" strategies has been very effective in many countries. Finally, working closely with communities in order to identify violence against women and children before they became serious crimes can also be a great alternative. To conclude, the death penalty is the most severe one and unfortunately is a reactive measure. It could be adopted for exceptional cases, but it is not enough. Preventative measures such as the ones quoted in the previous paragraph are very effective and can be widely used.