In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the advantages of video surveillance outweigh the disadvantages?

Video cameras have become common in many countries in recent years. While I understand that critics may see this as an invasion of privacy, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, many people feel that video camera recording of their movements is likely to be a form of state control that intrudes on their privacy and freedom of life. For example, when a married man starts an ungrounded relationship with his female coworker, he does not do something criminal but this unwise action would be recorded. The feeling of being observed may lead him to consider as controlled by these recording machines. On the other hand, the continuing recording police conduct a constant patrol over streets and alleys. Dwellers just dislike doing something with unease. However, I believe that observant machines play a critical role in reducing the crime rate. Conversely, culprits would choose places where it is not easy to be caught. For instance, shoplifters and pickpockets are less likely to operate in parts of cities where they know that they are being watched. European countries are regarded as wonderful as the heaven of appealing attractions; however, those countries filled with pickpockets have a negative impact on the traveler's safety. For example, Taiwan has set up thousands of video cameras for many years, the crime rate has dramatically dropped and people feel a sense of security. They enjoy the benefits of these functions but ignore how frequently they face these machines. Thus, video camera is a key to building up the protective walls away from the underlying factors of crime. In conclusion, people feel unsafety being supervised by observant equipment; however, these video cameras efficiently and effectively catch and prosecute offenders, and the benefits outweigh the disadvantages.