The use of smartphone is decreasing our collective intelligence because we are reliant on the technology and not our own minds. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is commonly seen that human beings depend a lot on technology which results in declining their intellectual power. Personally, I believe that this trend has a detrimental effect on developing their mind as people use technological devices in excess amount, and the features they provide for entertainment makes them habitual to use these gadgets. To start with, there is a myriad of arguments why most people have access to technological gadgets, such as mobile phones, which results in decreasing our mental health. The first and foremost is that smartphones become a part of the everyday regime without which humans can not imagine their lives in this contemporary era. Not only can people like to write a mobile number of their kiths and kins on smartphones instead of remembering them, but they can also use this gadget to remind them about the meeting by putting reminders. For instance, a recent study reveals that nowadays 80 per cent of professional employees put reminders of important meetings instead of remembering them. Needless to say, the impact of such a trend has a far-reaching impact on the cognitive skills of the masses. Moreover, technology makes life comfortable and provide a lot for entertaining so everyone want to become a part of it. That is the reason why most of the youngsters prefer to spend time on their mobile phones instead of playing outdoor. Despite spending time with their peers and other outdoor games, they like to play video games and watches videos on Netflix and Amazon. This is also due to the advancement in technology because smartphone nowadays provides a lot of features, such as video calls, music and games, which attracts children and youngsters, consequently, it affects their mental growth. Hence, it is apparent that all these have negative consequences for the overall development of their intellectuals. To conclude, although the smartphone is more than a source of entertainment, I think that excess usage will restrict their mental growth, and its negative effects are indeed too dire to ignore