Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Whereas critics denigrate the cruciality of sports to merely entertainment, others believe that sports are vital to society. In my opinion, I agree with the latter as sports have several intangible and tangible benefits for society. Some critics hold the view that sports activities do no more than entertain the audience. Because of their high price tag, many sports such as golf are considered a privilege for the rich and they are inaccessible to ordinary individuals. For example, even if ordinary individuals aspire to play golf, could not afford to spend thousands of dollars on a golf club. Therefore, in the eyes of the general public, these games are extraneous to them and they could not resonate with the participants easily. This is the exact reason why they belittle the significance of sports to just entertainment. However, I argue that many other sports, which are available for the general mass, serve a prominent role in building up trust among participants. Team games like soccer require players to have faith in each other to outperform the rival team. At any moment, they must be willing to believe their teammates and pass the ball to others should other teammates be in a better position to advance the team. On top of that, from the economic aspect, sports help to spur local economic growth. The hosting of international events such as the Olympics and the World Cup generates millions of immediate job positions in the tourism and hospitality industry. Beijing Olympics, for instance,more people were hired as hotel management crews during the game. In conclusion, although the public fails to relate to minority sports like Golf and downplay their importance, the majority of sports which are available for everyone are undoubtedly indispensable to society since they increase employment opportunities and encourage the players to learn to trust others.