Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic is recognized as one of the greatest innovations in the 21st century, currently, it is widely used for packaging due to its strong resistance and being lightweight which are perfect to hold anything. In contrast, several environmental issues should be concerned from this innovation. Likewise, numerous solutions can be expected with the right approach. First of all, the degeneration process of this product takes decades to be done. Hence, the proper management requires a large sum of money as well as advanced technology which may not be accessible in every country especially developing countries. For example, in Thailand, these plastic wastes are piled up in landfills or put under the ground for generations due to a lack of technology. Furthermore, these wastes are highly toxic, without proper management, toxins are leaking into the nearby nature such as water or land. For instance, microplastic molecules can be found in various food sources such as fish, milk or even drinking water in the present time. Consequently, numerous studies discover the mutation in human DNA in infants all over the globe due to the early introduction of chemicals in the womb. As a result, it is undeniable that despite the several benefits, the adverse effects of these products are enormous. However, it is not too late for actions to lessen the impact with the sustainable approach of strict control policies from governments, alternative replacement of packaging and etc. For illustration, authorities need to ensure improper garbage disposal is illegal and appropriate punishment is needed. Particularly, plastic needs to be discarded to the right location for further management aways from other types of trash before being exposed to the environment. In addition, eco-friendly forms of packaging such as paper should be introduced to limit the demand for harmful items. This intervention is essential to ensure a sustainable approach to the industrial process in the long run. In conclusion, plastic packaging is certainly harmful to nature for a long time dissolving to contamination of nearby natural resources. Meanwhile, some solutions are possible including moving toward eco-friendly products, strict control policies and etc.