IELTS Writing Task 2 Topics: Number 8. Some think that teenagers should follow older people’s rules. Others thinks that it is natural for them to challenge what older people say. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the last few decades, the world has been evolving rapidly and so have the perspectives about life. While some people believe that young adults must adhere to the principles adopted by older people, others are of the opinion that teenagers should find their own ways rather than following the rules of the previous generation. In my opinion, although it is agreeable to consider the elderly's ethics of life who have vast life experiences, the current generation must cultivate their own path as it helps them to learn and develop a distinctive approach towards life. It is ubiquitously argued in families that youngsters should align with the rules of older people because of their enriched life experience and learnings. In addition, they advise their offspring not to fall into any of the traps which they have already gone through as it creates pain and sorrow for them because of their endearment towards children. For instance, in certain parts of India, grandparents and parents advise children to buy houses at a young age since the former suffered many years of homelessness. Therefore, listening to the older generation is beneficial for young boys and girls as they can avoid inadvertent mistakes. On the contrary, it is quite natural for juveniles to decide against the traditional aspects of life as it yields unique lifelong experiences. Furthermore, if a person explores the world and surroundings in the way he wants to, it will always stick to his memory and consequently benefit him in the long run. For example, a recent survey conducted among teenagers in Australia reveals that 60% of the country's young population loves to travel rather than get into a job which is entirely against the concept of the preceding generation. Thus, allowing young individuals to design life rules of their own is totally an explorative choice for those who like to do it. To conclude, situations around us have been changing at a fast pace and the persuasions about life have also been abruptly broadened. Even though teenagers can conform to the instructions given by old people, in my viewpoint they should show the courage to approach their life in their own way to experience uniqueness in life.