Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate whether sports activities in society are just a leisure activity or a crucial part of the community. While each has its own perks, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, playing sports is considered a hobby that people do in their free time since it provides relaxation. Indeed, when engaging in a sports activity, individuals might relieve their stress and recover their sanity by participating in physical activities, reducing their thoughts about work or study. For example, after a strenuous studying day at school, Vietnamese adolescents often hang out with their intimate friends in various soccer fields. As a result, they might have a memorable experience with their friends, forging strong bonds with them via sporting activities. That is why some consider it as a common leisure activity. While the redeeming features of outdoor activities are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if those of its significance are neglected. However, sports activities are of paramount significance since they enhance dwellers’ physical well-being. In particular, taking part in sporting activities requires a lot of muscle movements, which gives them opportunities to burn calories and revamp their stamina. For example, running is involved in football playing, it enables muscles to work constantly, which results in a healthy body. As a result, it may hinder them from various diseases which develop from a sedentary lifestyle, such as diabetes or obesity. Therefore, it can be seen that sporting activities are more than just a hobby. In conclusion, people play sports as a leisure hobby to decompress the stress from their work and study, yet these activities can also improve their physical health and prevent them from contracting hazardous diseases, which might be considered a major contribution to society.