Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

The institution curriculum is being designed in such a way that focuses on the overall development of students in all spheres of life such as cognitive, real-time experiences, team effort, etc. Whereas, the final term exam is a part of the evaluation. In my opinion, students gain extra with practical hands-on in a subject which provides wide exposure, and while doing projects in a team broadens their horizon of interpersonal development. Firstly, Academics consider fieldwork in mark evaluation. The practical work along with theory helps in comprehending the subject in depth. For example, it is challenging to memorize complex scientific theories, but a demo in the laboratory makes it simplified. Moreover, it becomes easier for kids to reciprocate the learnings. Therefore, practical work plays a crucial role in developing cognitive processes. Secondly, completing assignments in a group provides an opportunity towards learning attitude and sharing an accountable thought process to generate more ideas together. For example, research revealed that many group tasks have left a remarkable impact on children, in the long term they turned out to be effective in communication. It provides a platform to represent individual thoughts. Hence, this is a necessary part of the curriculum, where one learns how to delegate a task within a team. In conclusion, the agenda of the educational institutions should consider the growth of students in all aspects instead of counting only one factor as a part of marks evaluation. Although, theory upholds the base of learning but other factors such as project work and mid-term assessment account for equal weightage to mark grades in report cards.