There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

A wide variety of music is popular throughout the globe. Music plays an important role in relaxing one’s mind and soul. Although preservation of cultural and folk music is essential, I believe equal importance needs to be given to international music / non-native music. Music involves vocal, instrumental or mechanical sounds that provide rhythm and harmony. For ages, it has been considered the most imperative source of entertainment. The major reasons behind creating music include ceremonial purposes, recreational intentions and artistic expression. Rhythmic compositions provide mental renewal to a person. One can get away from all the worries and calm the anxieties arising out of chaotic schedules. Also, musicians have the power to convert thoughts or feelings into tunes and songs which everyone can relate to. Hence, music is necessary for mankind. Furthermore, ethnic music reflects the culture, tradition and heritage of a country and needs to be preserved as it connects people to their roots and traditions. Songs related to native culture make the younger generation aware of their customs and values. These songs help them feel proud of their legacy and hence they should definitely be promoted. At the same time, nowadays, international or western music is also gaining popularity all over the world especially among youngsters. The popularity of western music can be attributed to factors such as its novelty, globalization and the upper hand of western culture. In my opinion, all forms of music are worth listening to and should be popularized regardless of the genre or country of origin. Native music certainly needs some promotion; this, however, does not mean that international music should be neglected. In conclusion, I stress the fact that melodious songs and lyrics bring eternal peace. Both local and international music is of great significance.